1. Documentation
  2. Getting Started
  3. Managing Projects

Managing Projects

Deepgram Projects organize all of your Deepgram resources, including your datasets and models, into logical groups. A Project consists of a set of members, a set of API keys, and billing and monitoring settings for Deepgram services.

When you sign up, we automatically create a Project for you. Any promotional credit you have earned is attached to this first project. If you would like to transfer your promotional balance to a new project, contact Support.

You can manage your Projects using either the Deepgram Console or the Deepgram API.

Before You Begin

Create a Deepgram Account

Before you can use Deepgram products, you'll need to create a Deepgram account. Signup is free and includes:

  • $150 in credit, which gives you access to:

    • all base models
    • pre-recorded and streaming functionality
    • all features

Create a Project

To create a new project:

  1. Log in to the Deepgram Console.

  2. From the Projects dropdown on the top-left, select Add New Project.

  3. Enter a New Project Name, and select Create Project.

The new Project has been created and is listed in the Projects dropdown.

Rename a Project

To change a project's name:

  1. Log in to the Deepgram Console.

  2. From the Projects dropdown on the top-left, select the Project that you want to rename.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. Enter a new Project Name for your project, and select Update.

The selected Project has been renamed.

Manage Team Members

After you have created a Project, you can invite Team Members who you can let create transcripts for your Project, monitor Project balances and usage, or even manage other Team Members and create API Keys. You control what actions a Team Member can perform by assigning them a Role.

Invite a Team Member

When you invite a Team Member, you assign them a Role, which determines which actions they can perform in the associated Project. Deepgram uses a tiered system of access control to provide granular access to its endpoints. To learn more about roles, see Working with Roles. You can change the role for a user at any time.

To invite a Team Member to your Project:

  1. Log in to the Deepgram Console.

  2. From the Projects dropdown on the top-left, select the Project to which you want to invite a Team Member.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. Select the Team Members view.

  5. Select Invite New Member.

  6. Enter the following settings, and select Send Invites:

NameDescription
Email Address(es)Email address(es) to which you want to send invitations for the selected Project.
RoleRole to assign to the Team Member. The Team Member may perform only the actions allowed by the permissions associated with this role. To learn more about roles, see Working with Roles.

Deepgram has sent your invitations via email. To access your Project, the Team Members must accept the invitation using the email address to which it was originally sent.

Resend Invitation to a Team Member

When you invite a user to your Project, Deepgram sends them an invitation via email. To access your Project, they must accept the invitation. If they don't receive the invitation, you can resend it.

To resend an invitation:

  1. Log in to the Deepgram Console.

  2. From the Projects dropdown on the top-left, select the Project with which the Team Member is associated.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. Select the Team Members view.

  5. Locate the user to whom you want to resend an invitation. Users with unaccepted invitations will have only their email address populated.

  6. Select Resend Invitation.

The user's invitation has been resent via email.

Change a Team Member Role

To change the role for a Team Member:

  1. Log in to the Deepgram Console.

  2. From the Projects dropdown on the top-left, select the Project with which the Team Member is associated.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. Select the Team Members view.

  5. Locate the Team Member who you want to edit, and select their role from the Role column.

  6. Select a new role.

The Team Member's role in your Project has been updated.

Remove a Team Member

To remove a Team Member:

  1. Log in to the Deepgram Console.

  2. From the Projects dropdown on the top-left, select the Project with which the Team Member is associated.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. Select the Team Members view.

  5. Locate the Team Member to remove, and select the associated trash can icon.

The Team Member has been removed from your Project.

Manage API Keys

Deepgram's API uses API Keys to authenticate requests. You can view and manage your API Keys in the Deepgram Console or through the Deepgram API.

Your API keys grant many privileges, so be sure to keep them secure. Do not share your secret API keys in publicly accessible areas such as GitHub or client-side code.

For best results, use different API Keys for testing and production. To help filter usage, you can also use different API Keys for different consumers or teams at your organization.

Create an API Key

When you create an API Key, you assign it a Role, which determines which actions it can be used to perform in the associated Project. Deepgram uses a tiered system of access control to provide granular access to its endpoints. To learn more about roles, see Working with Roles.

To learn more about creating API Keys and see examples of how to use them with our API, see Authenticating.

Delete an API Key

  1. Log in to the Deepgram Console.

  2. From the Projects dropdown on the top-left, select the Project in which you want to delete an API Key.

  3. Select Settings.

  4. Select the API Keys view.

  5. Locate the API Key to delete, and select the associated trash can icon.

The API Key has been removed from your Project.

Manage Billing

Projects are assigned credits, which determine how many transactions can be performed for the associated Project.

In certain cases, credits may expire:

  • Credits associated with an enterprise contract expire at the end of the contract period.
  • Deepgram free promotional credits expire one year from signup.

Credits purchased by individuals using a credit card do not expire.

If you would like to transfer your credit balance to another project, contact Support. When credits are transferred, any associated expiration date also transfers.